Sacramento & Placer County DUI Attorney

If you have been arrested for a DUI, the first thing you should do is contact an attorney immediately.  Not only could this help with your criminal case the District Attorney is likely to file, it may save your driver's license.  Call 916-945-8877 now!

A DUI, the DMV, and Your License

After a DUI arrest, you only have ten (10) days, usually from day of arrest, to request a DMV hearing to contest the administrative suspension of your driver’s license. If you fail to act, the administrative suspension of your driver’s license will start 30 days after your arrest! 

 

Hiring a lawyer means they can request the hearing for you, often scheduling it further out, allowing some defense investigation to be done and to prepare for the administrative hearing.  Your attorney can represent you in the hearing (sometimes you may not even need to attend) and argue to convince the DMV to not suspend your driver's license.  In addition, your lawyer can also use the DMV hearing as an opportunity to gather evidence that may prove useful in court on your criminal case.​

What is a DUI?

California has some of the most stringent impaired driving (DUI) laws in the country, and includes several different type of DUI type offenses, found in California Vehicle Code section 23152:

  • (a) Driving under the influence of alcohol

  • (b) Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more

  • (c) Driving while being addicted to the use of any drug

  • (d) Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04% or more

  • (e) Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or more when a passenger for hire is a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense (e.g., Uber, Lyft)

  • (f) Driving under the influence of any drug, prescription or not.

  • (g) Driving under the influence of a combination of alcohol and drug

If Convicted What are the Penalties?

Assuming there are no aggravated circumstances such as bodily injury or fatalities, a first-time DUI conviction can incur the following penalties:

  • $2,300 or more in fines and penalty assessments;

  • Up to six months in county jail;

  • Community service work;

  • Attendance at AA meetings;

  • Driver's license suspension for six months, with the possibility of obtaining a restricted license after 30 days;

  • Three to nine months of DUI school;

  • Three to five years of probation; and

  • Installation of an ignition interlock device.

Sacramento, Placer, El Dorado, Nevada, Yolo Counties criminal defense attorney Jeffrey Wood

Call me for your free consultation.

Get help now!

Thanks, I'll be in contact soon!

For a great overview of the penalties and other resources, click here.

Convictions for two or more DUIs within 10 years in California can be significant, and in addition to the first time penalties, may include:

  • Second DUI Offense: Fines and penalties of up to $3,000 or more, 10 days to one year in jail, and up to a two-year license suspension.

  • Third DUI Offense: Fines and penalties of up to $3,000 or more, 120 days to one year in jail, and a three-year license revocation.

  • Fourth DUI Offense: Fines of up to $10,000 or more, 180 days in jail  or up to three years in California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (prison), and a four-year license revocation.

Call Attorney Jeff Wood for Immediate Legal Assistance.

Involving an attorney early in the process can possibly reduce the penalties, or even have the case declined to be filed or dismissed once it is filed.  There are also other strategies your attorney can explore, for example filing a motion to suppress evidence, dispute the prosecution's experts, or revealing the often poor police investigation, to name a few.​